Where I get a little sappy about my men

Standard

Our little man is one month old today!  I told you time would fly!  I knew I’d soon be reminiscing about the day Zach was born, and how little he was when we brought him home from the hospital.  Dee, he’s remembering too.  Just the other day he was holding Zach and said, “Look how big he is!”  Maybe a tad wistful, his voice?

Zach’s one-month checkup was this morning, and he weighed in at a whopping 11.5 lbs.  I knew he felt heavier!  (I’ve been too lazy to weigh him or myself most recently.)  He’s calmed down into a perfectly sweet baby boy.  Our thrush cleared up last week, and the chiropractor adjusted Zach’s pelvis, back and neck.  Minor adjustments, but still… Maybe Zach’s fussiness was a combination of discomforts?  Or maybe he was just testing Mommy, making sure I’d love him anyway.

I did.  And I do.  My baby boy is grabbing my heart right along with the front of my shirt!

Zach’s daddy, he’s a good one.  We sometimes lie in the dark, my man and I, holding hands and touching toes, the baby between us.  We wink in the dark, and whisper, “We did a good job making him, didn’t we?”

Dee’s holding Zach right now, snuggling with him and Megan while they watch “Rio.”  He’s the one that gives Zach all of his baths (showers, actually), and rocks him to sleep if I’ve been holding him too long.  He can’t help with the nursing, but he does roll over and talk to Zach during those middle-of-the-night diaper changes.  He tucks bigger kids back in bed, if somebody wakes up with a bad dream or a full bladder.   And then he rolls out of bed before the sun wakes up, to get ready for another day at work.

He remembers my birthday next Wednesday, even though I forgot.  He folds my laundry if I let the pile get too high (sorry, Babe!), and cleans my kitchen just because he’s sweet like that.  He stops for milk, and most of the other groceries to be honest!  He buys pizza for supper even though that money could pay part of a bill or get added to our “back deck” savings account.  He puts all of his dirty socks in the hamper, and trains our kids to be neat and helpful too.  He makes me laugh, and he makes me feel beautiful.   (Even at nine months pregnant, and during those “flabby tummy” months after giving birth!)

So Zach, dear son, if someone tells you that you’re just like your dad, say, “Thank You.”  It’s one of the biggest compliments you’ll ever receive!  I hope you keep your darling, strawberry blond hair.  You and Daddy are the only ones with that color!  You didn’t have any option on the blue eyes.  I love that you have adorable side-burns already!  I hope you have a heart as big as Daddy’s to go with your beautiful handsome looks.  You do whatever God calls you to do, but if you want to fix cars and build houses and be like Daddy, that would be just fine with me.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Oh, now you’re pulling at my heart. What a wonderful post and legacy in making! I can see why your man loves you, it must be easy to do! Glad every”thing” is clearing up and you are feeling better!

  2. Loved this post! Jonathan and I love to hold hands and gaze down at our sleeping beauty and marvel that such a precious baby came from us! 🙂 Such amazing moments! I am with you about the sweetness and sadness as I gaze at my baby girl and see how big she is getting. I want to hold onto these moments a little longer. I just treasure each time I get to hold and nurse her. Each 100-watt smile lights up my own heart even brighter! These moments might mean we are sappy, but I am with you, sister, I treasure every one of them!

Leave a Reply

