Jammies and ice cream

Standard

I’m not sure I like the term “bucket list,” because I’m not sure I like to copy from a movie (a movie I loved!), but regardless…  I crossed something off of my “whatever-it’s-called list” last week!

I’ve always wanted to tuck the kids in bed for the night, and then wake them up and go out for ice cream.  If you were a kid, wouldn’t that be a fun thing you’d remember?  Forever?  I thought so.

My husband, he’s a little more practical than me.  So we compromised.  We didn’t actually tuck the kids in bed.  They put jammies on, and Kirstyn even brushed her teeth and was heading up to bed, when Dee said, “Okay, everybody go climb in the Suburban!”

When I climbed into the car with Zach a few minutes later, I could feel the excitement!  Giggles, and disbelief…”Mommy!  Guess what!  We’re getting ICE CREAM!” and… “I can’t believe we’re actually getting ice cream in our JAMMIES!”

It was a big hit.

At Mikie’s, Cory came inside to help me carry ice cream out back out to everyone.  If it was up to me, I would have let all the kids troop inside in their footie jammies!  But again, I deferred to my practical hubby.  Maybe next time?  It would be fun to make this a monthly tradition.

We pigged out on mint moosetracks (I have almost everyone converted to my favorite!) and waffle cones, and drove home with sticky faces and happy voices saying, “Thanks, Daddy!”

(He was nice and told them it was Mommy’s idea.)

We tucked the kids in bed with spilled ice cream on their jammies.  I’m sure they had sweet dreams!

8 responses »

  1. You are brave, Ruth! When we decide to splurge on sweets, our kids are up past our bedtime. That’s not something we like to have happen often as we need our Daddy & Mommy times too. 🙂 BUT, times like these can be those special and unusual moments we all can appreciate!

  2. What fun! We tried this once. After they were all ready for bed I told them we were going for a surprise ride in the dark. They were thinking “fun ride” as in amusement parks or something so they ended up all disappointed. lol Oh well.

  3. I love it! I’ve thought about doing this before when I read a traditions book, but we haven’t done it yet. I think I love bedtime a little too much. 🙂 My kids have a three week school break starting later this month. Maybe we’ll have to go for it.

  4. Way sweet! Where I grew up we had two drive in theaters. My sister and I loved sitting in the back seat in our jammies enjoying goodies and cartoons….usually fell asleep during the movie…never forget this! My grandson stays with us during the summer and we let him wear his plaid pj pants out to early morning Saturday breakfast…he thinks it is so cool. I will be sad when the day comes that he is embarrassed to do that anymore. What fun!

  5. Wow! I love that idea! My daughter hates to be woken up so we’d have to go the route of taking her in her jammies but I could just hear her squealing in delight! I love it, we’re going to do it!

Leave a Reply

