Baby messes not so little

Standard

Okay, sometime before she has her own kids, Kirstyn needs to get over the “yuckiness” factor of baby puke!  Puke happens!  A lot of puke happens.  I’ll often plop Zach in Kirstyn’s lap while I pull something out of the oven, or change Megan’s diaper.  (That girl needs to use the POTTY!)  Kirstyn loves her baby brother to death, but at the first hint of spitup, she rushes to change her clothes.

In her defense, baby puke stinks!  Digested, curdled, sour milk.  It just smells, no question!  If I didn’t get the stuff spit all over me all day long, I’d probably rush to change too.  Since that would create insurmountable laundry though, I just try to change into a clean shirt before Dee comes home.

Used to be, we’d go to cuddle once the kids were in bed, and Dee would say, “Uh… your shoulder smells like baby puke.”  I learned!  If I want hugs, I wear a clean shirt.  If I don’t want hugs, then I wear my all-natural repellant.  Heehee… no.  I always change my shirt, if I remember!  I’m a nice wife like that.

The baby puke probably smells worse than baby poop, to tell the truth!  Baby poop (I’m talking newborn) is definitely a softer, sweeter smell.  But still gross, yes!  And you all know how it is, babies poop almost as often as they spit up.  Maybe because babies’ digestive systems aren’t clogged with junk yet?  Whatever the reason, the poop just keeps coming.  Lots of diapers.  Right now, I am so glad I don’t use cloth diapers!  Disposable, baby!  Just peel diaper off bum, and throw away!

(But I deeply admire all of you women who use cloth diapers.  You are amazing!)

I always pack extra diapers and changes of clothing (for baby and me!) when I go out.  Church, doctor’s appointments, field trips… that’s where the major blow-outs happen!  On Tuesday this week, we were on a school field trip when Zach pooped right through the pouch sling I was carrying him in.  I was patting his bottom, trying to get him to sleep, when I realized my hand was wet.  I smelled it.  NOT pee!  Sneaky pooper, that Zach.  I hadn’t even heard him fill his diaper!

Right now, I have dried puke not only on my shirt, but down my shirt as well.  Zach decided my skin didn’t smell “natural” enough, I guess!  So now I not only need to change my shirt, but also try to shower before Dee gets home.  That should make him extra happy!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. My daughter is the same way! She gets really upset when her brother spits up even NEAR her let alone on her. She starts coughing and pretends to be sick even though in all other ways she’s basically the perfect four year old sister!

Leave a Reply

