Car talk. About bird poop and bug guts.

Standard

Today we talked about bird poop.  Sunday mornings are always great talking (or venting) times for us, since we drive over an hour one way to church.  Here’s today’s chat…

Me: “Oh look!  You hit a purple bug!  That’s kind of weird.”

Dee: “No Babe, there are these things that fly around, and have to eat and poop…”

Me:  “Ooo — I  know!  A bird!  It’s bird poop.  It ate purple berries!”

Dee:  “Mm-hmm!  Don’t tell me you’ve never seen purple bird poop before!”

Me:  “I don’t think so.  Especially not neon purple!”

Dee:  “You have got to get out more.”

(I guess truck drivers do see a lot of bird poop.  I’ll trust him that the neon purple version is more common than I would imagine.)

That’s exactly how it went, and I did feel a little ditzy.  But then three minutes later…

Dee:  “Look!  Red poop!”

Me:  “No Babe, that’s blood.  You hit a bug.”

Dee.  “Oh.  Right.”

I have no idea what our kids were thinking in the back seat, because even I thought the parents sounded wacky!

And before I leave you all to enjoy Sunday dinner, here’s one more bug chat…

Me:  “Wow!  That was a big bug you hit!”

Cameron:  “Why did Daddy hit it?”

Me:  “Well, Daddy is driving really fast one way, and the bug is flying towards us, and neither of us can stop.  So we just smashed into each other!”

Cameron:  “Daddy should have beeped at it.”

Yeah, our Sunday morning car trips are… quite trippy.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

