Shopping with baby

Standard

Ever since Zach was born, I’ve had the urge to shop.  Not for diapers, or groceries, or kids clothes.  For ME clothes!  It’s not that my old clothes don’t fit.  I have no good excuse!  I just wanted to buy new stuff.  And not just buy, but go SHOPPING!

Kohl’s sent me a 30% off coupon last week, so here was my chance.  (It’s a really good marketing strategy, sending 30% off coupons to new moms, and near birthdays and Christmas.)  Dee watched the big kids while I took Little Man.  You’ve been there, right?  Shopping with a baby is slooooowww goooooiiinnng.  Zach is not one to stay asleep in his carseat when the car stops.  He woke up when we got to Kohl’s and wanted me to hold him.  I lugged him around for 2 hours!  Yes, that’s how long it took me to shop through all the departments, for my whole family, with only one arm free.  Browsing through racks is tricky, and trying clothes on even trickier.

We did good though, Zach and me.  My back and arms got a workout, and he got snuggle time with Mommy.

One downside to trying clothes on with a baby, is that you end up just buying one of everything, so you can decide later.  (Wait, is that necessarily a downside?  And am I the only one who does that?)  Dee was still awake when I got home, so I tried all my sweaters on for him.  He “yayed” or “nayed” them, and may have even thrown in a wolf whistle or two…

He must have been in a good mood, because he told me to keep at least half of what I’d picked out!  Mmm-hmmm!  I like fashion shows.

(I bought a bunch of other stuff at Kohl’s too.  I can’t talk about it though, because some of it might end up under the Christmas tree.  I won’t tell you how much “Kohl’s Cash” I now have in my possession.  It’s a lot.)

Zach got a compliment!  At the checkout counter, the woman in front of me said, “He is such a good baby!  I haven’t heard him at ALL the entire time!”  (Oh.  Did she know I’d been here for two hours?)  I thanked her, nodded at her big pile of toys, and asked if she was doing Christmas shopping.  She said, “Yes, and some birthday too.”  (Ooo!  My type of gal!)  She had an almost-one year old, and three more kids at home!  Her oldest was sixteen though.  She asked, “And is this your first?”

“No, I actally have four more kids at home,” I said.  (*wince*) Not because I was embarrassed, but because I didn’t want this to turn into a competition conversation!  I totally admired this lady.

She said, “Oh!  I’ll stop talking now!”

“No, no… You’ve been there, done that already,” I laughed.  “How is it having a teenager?  I’ve heard motherhood gets harder the older your kids get.”

She laughed too, maybe rolled her eyes in friendly connection.  She said her son was getting his license soon, and I said I was looking forward to the day my kids could run errands for me, and we chatted and empathized like only moms of multiple children can.  The poor cashier.  I’m sure she was anxious to ring up us shopping-starved mama’s and go home.

A good evening, I’d say!  I had fun, spent quality time with my baby, exposed him to culture and new environments (I’m all about infant development!), bought new sweaters, and made a new friend.  (They say that you should engage in good conversation every day.   It stimulates the brain.  And conversing with your small children just doesn’t cut it sometimes!)

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Loved it, Ruth! You are so funny, how you always put a positive twist to everything. “Cultural exposure” for Zach! That is cute! Shopping! Now that sounds fabulous! I love to shop — when I have $. 🙂 Glad you had fun!

Leave a Reply

