October Blizzard

Standard

It’s not really a blizzard, but that’s my pet name.  A rare thing, snow in October!  My father-in-law asked if I was doing a snow dance.  I hadn’t been, but I wish I’d thought of it!  I LOVE THE SNOW!!!

My husband thinks I’m crazy.  He works outdoor all year long, so I understand that the snow can be cold, wet and nasty.  But still.  It’s sooooooo beautiful.  (And “So FLUFFY!”)

It does my New England roots good.

Our men are out working in the snow today, building that woodshed, so I do feel a little sorry for them.  I’m keeping them supplied with coffee and hot chocolate, and I’ll make sure Dee gets extra snuggles tonight!

I can sit indoors and sip coffee (I’m on my third pot), take pictures, light candles, listen to music, and rock the baby.

(I wore my Bogs for the first time, out to take pictures.  Made my sister-in-law and mother-in-law jealous!  Thanks, Esther and Ben, for such a nice gift!)

My kids are soaking through coat after coat, mitten after mitten.  They were ready to play in the snow before I even rolled out of bed this morning!  Kirstyn made a snowman, complete with Hershey kisses for buttons and eyes.  I fear the eyes and buttons may disappear, gobbled up by little “birdies.”

If you get tired of just watching the snow fall (which is quite enchanting), take a shot at Kirstyn’s new game!  You play it just like the cloud game, only you find shapes in the snow.  This one is “A Pregnant Sea Horse.”

Happy Snowy Weekend, everyone!  If you run out of power, there’s always snow and maple syrup.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. I love how your trees are still green! At least ours have started to change colors. Cody is already playing in the snow, and tj has a sleepover at grandmas to play. Enjoy your snow!

Leave a Reply

