My continuing obsession with trees

Standard

We still have snow on the ground!  It’s melting fast though, and will probably be gone by tonight.  I hope it comes back soon.

The kids went sledding after church yesterday.  Kids everywhere were sledding!  We drove a bunch of back roads home from church, and in every town I saw sled tracks down huge hills and kids pulling sleds through the snow.  Such a novel thing, this October snow!  Maybe by January the kids will be bored by snow.  Maybe.  I don’t remember ever being tired of snow when I was a kid!  Me and my brother Steve, we built a lot of snow forts back in the day.

The trees around here were damaged by the snow.  A lot of trees!  It was a wet, heavy snow, and the trees haven’t lost all their leaves yet.  Driving around yesterday, I was sad seeing all the broken branches!  I would have cried if I wasn’t afraid of appearing looney.  Oh, and then last night we watched “Captain America.”  There’s a scene towards the end where soldiers are running through the forest.  There’s gunfire and explosions, and I think I saw a maple tree get blown up.  Then I was sad again!  No people actually died in the making of the movie, and if a movie shows animal trauma the movie-makers are quick to assure us that no animals were harmed during the filming… but what about the trees?!  Poor trees.

I didn’t plant any more trees this year.  I showed self-control, even though I was sorely tempted every time I drove by a tree nursery or saw a baby tree planted in someone else’s yard!  I’m afraid I struggle with covetousness.

My trees are doing well, by the way.  My sugar maples were absolutely gorgeous this fall!  Do you know what I thought yesterday, as we were driving around and I was noticing trees?  I thought how my trees will stay and grow old with me, even after all the kids have moved out.  Do you know anyone as tree-obsessed as I am?  I thought not.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

