Love whispers

Standard

It’s almost midnight… My baby just now fell asleep.  It’s better than last week’s 1:30am fall-asleep time!  He rarely does this though, so I can forgive him.  Quite easily, I might add, when he grins up at me in the morning and coos, “Mommy!  I love you!  You’re my favorite person.”

I love being a mother.

Sure, there are crappy days (some literally) when I feel like shipping all the kids off to boarding school.  But in the very same moment, I want to scoop them up and hold them forever.  What an exhausting job, this motherhood!  Physically and emotionally, it rips us apart.

Even the crappy days are sweet to me.  It’s real.  It’s life.  It’s fleeting, and could be torn away from me.  So I will choose to treasure it!  I will choose to bite my tongue when worn out, frustrated, angry words form.  I will choose to speak peace in my home!  Because hurtful words, they don’t accomplish anything.  They leave unseen wounds to fester.  I will choose to love.  And when I fail?  I will not give in to the doubts ready to speak untruth… “I am not a good enough mother.”  No.  My children and my God, they whisper to me of unconditional love, and I will choose to accept it!  So I can whisper it back.

We have this game we play, my kids and I.  We grin and say, “I have a secret!”  And then lean in close and whisper, “Guess what?  I love you!!!”  It always ends in giggles, and hearts soothed again by love.  It’s a favorite game, and one I doubt any of us will forget!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. What a sweet post, as always. You know where my life is at and while visiting with my son, I got to see my other 5 grandkids. I have 5 who are teens and 5 who are 12 and under…love it! The 5 youngest belong to my daughter (the others are split between my oldest daughter and my oldest son-the soldier is single) whew! Yes, this job can be exhausting, challenging, heart wrenching, enjoyable, fun, exciting, thrilling, sweet, warm, soothing, fulfilling….ALL AT ONCE! Sorry, didn’t mean to write a story, just so FEEL your heart…and YES, I choose to fill my home with peace, love, acceptance and forgiveness…see things ain’t that bad, thank goodness we don’t have to believe the media..=)! Take Care, Connie
    PS The next time you cuddle and kiss that new little blessing, could you whisper that Aunty Connie loves him too? Thank you =)!

Leave a Reply

