Red Starbucks cups make me happy! (The caffeine makes me giddy.)

Standard

Starbucks posted an advertisement on my Facebook account, announcing that they are now using red cups!  Again, great marketing strategy… sending pictures of coffee to moms of newborns… moms who are deeply obsessed with coffee!

I made Dee stop and get me one on his way home from work.  I’m sipping it now.  If I seem extra high and happy, I am. =)

Yes, my husband is already home from work, and this makes me happy.  He’s out working on the woodshed, and took the boys to help, so this also makes me happy!  I feel like I got a good day of school in with the kids, I started a batch of apples in the dehydrator this morning, I got a shower, did laundry, made chocolate chip scones, and started on cleaning the downstairs bathroom for overnight company this weekend.  Go me!

(I am disappointed that my feelings about myself are based on my performance.  Oh well.  We’re working on that!)

Speaking of bathrooms, it’s a good thing we have four of them!  If all my kids turn out to be bookworms like Kirstyn, then there will be plenty of bathrooms to go around when someone wants to “sit a spell.”  I grew up with one bathroom (no shower!) for eight people, and we were NOT allowed to read while we sat on the pot!  I used to stuff books down my pants and under my shirt anyway.  probably got a spanking or two, but I can’t remember.  It was worth it. =)

Another random thought (I’m sipping coffee, remember):  Creators of wall decals these days don’t know their U.S. geography.  I bought a U.S. map at Kohl’s (50% off, plus my 30% coupon!) last week.  I went to put it up yesterday, and realized they had Alaska sitting right on top of Washington, and Hawaii directly south of California.  (There’s quite a bit of Canada separating Alaska from the rest of the United States, and Hawaii is very much south and west of California!  In case your geography is rusty.)  I adjusted these locations just a tad, so my kids wouldn’t be ruined.  Dee thinks the kids will topple down the basement stairs while they’re memorizing states, but hey… at least it will be pounded into their heads.

Now I have a huge world map to put up.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

8 responses »

  1. If your feelings of yourself are based on performance, at least you are doing well!!
    Think of how miserable you would be if you got absolutely nothing done. I’m a guilt-driven person myself. If I imagine myself feeling guilty over not getting something accomplished, I will be more likely to do it.
    Sounds like you had a great day! I have to ignore the internet completely to have such a productive day.

  2. It’s good I’m not judging myself of performance–I feel like I’ve been getting nothing done lately. I grew up with one bathroom, no shower, and five people–I thought that was bad, but you have me beat. And we even an an emergency toilet in the dark and dreary basement.

  3. I hope I’m this ambitious after my little guy is born, because I certainly am not right now. I did actually cook a yummy homemade supper last night though: homemade bread, potato soup, roast, and snicker salad! Go me! lol

  4. Oooo…chocolate chip scones. How’d they turn out? Well, that’s a silly question! Sounds soooo yummy! Might have to make a batch…

  5. Thanks for putting me in my place…Hawaii that is! LOL! Okay, its 10:30 in the evening and I live 15 miles away from the nearest Starbucks…darn! XOXO Connie

  6. Pingback: I bet my librarians are nicer than your librarians! « Our Little Patch of Heaven

Leave a Reply

