Vaccinations… and why I love my doctor so far

Standard

I made it through Zach’s 2 month check-up!  I’ve been dreading it, not sure what I was doing about vaccinations.  I may have even been hyperventilating on my drive to the pediatricians’ office.

I’ve heard that pediatricians are strict about vaccinations, and will kick you out of their practice if you don’t follow their vaccination schedule.  But I wanted to try a real pediatrician with Zach, instead of the family practice I haven’t been happy with for my other kids.

I LOVED this doctor’s visit!

I think the nurse could tell I was a little panicked about the whole vaccination deal.  She took Zach’s vitals, (told me he weigh’s 14 pounds now!  wow!), and asked, “Do you have any concerns today?”  I started in on the whole, “Well, he’s scheduled for vaccinations today…and I think I want to wait…I know somebody who does delayed vaccinations here… and he’s so little… and I think I just want to wait a little longer…

And she very warmly told me, “You’re the mom!  That’s always your decision.”

Oh my word, I almost hugged her!

The doctor was just as nice.  She told me I was doing a good job with Zach, and said they’d just recommend the same vaccinations at his 4 month check-up.  Everyone was so sweet, and NON-PUSHY!  I hyperventilated for nothing.

(They may still kick us out, if I keep saying, “I’m just going to wait awhile.”  But for now, everyone’s happy!)

So what do we do about vaccinations?  I don’t know.  I’m still trying to figure that out.

With my oldest kids, I followed the schedule.  I was a new mom, doing things by the book.  A couple of kids down the line, I realized they were getting immunized for chicken pox, and thought, “That’s crazy!  Chicken pox won’t kill them.”  So I stopped immunizing my kids against chicken pox.

(And none of us have ever had flu shots.)

When Megan had her round of shots at her 4 month check-up, she screamed and screamed all night long.  I never took her back!

Now though, I think I’ll be taking her back.  There are a few vaccinations that I’d like all of my kids to have.  (I’m hesitant to mention which ones — and which ones I won’t be giving my kids, because frankly, I don’t feel like getting any dirty looks.  I’m not good at handling that.)

Zach, too, will get those vaccinations some day.  Just not right now when he’s only 2 months and 14 pounds.

But…

Whether or not you and your kids are vaccinated, you should be fairly healthy this week!  My Cory just prayed for you!  During prayer time tonight he asked, “Please help our family, and our whole church, and everyone not to get sick.”

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

7 responses »

  1. It’s nice they were so great! I am not a huge fan of our pediatrician. I had a wonderful pediatrician when I had my first, then we moved. Now I think I compare everyone to him.

    With the vaccinations, I think you have to go with your mother’s intuition on things like that.

  2. There are so amny times I wish that I had not followed the doctor’s advice and had done things differently regarding vaccinations. Hindsight is 20/20. Your children are so sweet. No wonder. Look at their parents.

  3. I was SO nervous about telling our pedi that I wanted to delay vaccinations also with our oldest because I had heard the horror stories about huge guilt trips from doctors or refusing to see you etc. but our pediatrician has been great about it! Every time we come in she just says warmly I’m assuming you’re wanting to sign the vaccine waiver again (which legally we have to sign if we decline the schedule). I love our pediatrician. I’m glad you found one you are comfortable with.

  4. I always spread out the vaccines, too. In the end they end up getting all of them, but who on earth wants to have their baby poked 5 or 6 times in one sitting!?!?!?! Not me, that’s for sure.

    I split them up and spread them out and my pediatrician has also been good about it. 🙂

    You’re the mom, you get to decide, and it’s always best when there is peace!!

  5. Thats so cute about him praying for everyone! Abigail (5) does that too! she also prays that everyone will get saved.

    I love your new pictures! good shots of all of your kids and a really great one of you!

  6. Shots are scary! Even for grownups. You know that flu mist is so easy my kids don’t complain about it at all. I have said “no” to a few vaccinations too. I figure that I can let my kids choose the grownup ones if they want them. I do get the Chicken Pox shots just because four or five of my kids have had the Chicken Pox and they are not fun! That bit of discomfort with the shot is easier on all of us. But you are the mom and you should decide what’s best for your kids.
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

