Eight years of Lovin’!

Standard

 November 22nd, 2011

Dear Dee,

Happy Anniversary to us!  I love you past infinity.  (And I passed Chuck Norris, by the way.)  I love you way more than I did those far away eight years ago.  Isn’t it funny, how we always say that?  It’s true though.  And we look at ourselves now, all glowing and in love, and wonder how we really did love each other back then if this is love.

I’m sure the older folks laugh at us thinking we’re in love.  “Just you wait!” they’d say.  I believe them now.

Eight years ago was love, but this year is a better love, and eight years from now will be love too.  And when we’re really old?  It’s hard for me to imagine that love just grows, and grows, and grows.  Stretches with our skin.  And that we’ll be all wrinkly and wobbly someday, and loving each other even beyond the soulmate stage.  Maybe there aren’t even words to describe that kind of aged and nourished Love.  I can’t wait!

Wait.  Yes I can.  I am so happy right now, soaking up the moments.  And all those wrinkles that come with age?  They can totally wait for a while.  I have to get used to them little by little!  But by the time they’re all here, maybe I’ll have grown to embrace them.  Maybe I’ll believe you when you hold my wrinkly face in your wrinkly hands and say, “You are more beautiful now than you were when I married you.”

Because I know you will.  You have the sweetest way with words!

You know how I like my coffee, and how to brew the best coffee in the first place.  You know how to put our babies to sleep, and how to coax out that very first giggle.  How to pre-treat the laundry, how to load the dishwasher, and how to scrub puke out of the carpet.  You always know whether I need to laugh or cry, and how to offer your shoulder in just the right way.  (And you don’t mind if I get tears and boogers all over your chest.  That big, strong, manly chest…)

You sure know how to treat a girl.  I am so grateful that you picked me to be your wife!  I didn’t plan on getting married until I was 27, like my mom, but I’m so glad I married you when I did!  I would have missed out on some of the best years of my life so far.

Plus, we got a head start on creating this beautiful family together!  I love being the mother of your children.  Can we make some more?

I love that we’ve already grown a little old together.  We’re in our 30’s now!  Can you believe it?  We’re middle-aged!  This is going to be a blast, spending our 30’s together.  Life with you is always hilarious!  I love it.  I love you!  So much.  And I can’t wait to fall in love with you again tomorrow and the next day, and the next… right through infinity again.  (That Chuck Norris, he should really step up his pace.)

Love,

Ruth

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

6 responses »

  1. Beautiful! I have been wanting to write a letter to my man too, but haven’t learned how find time to blog as faithfully as you. Great job! I love your blogs and check regularly to see if you have blogged recently.
    I am smiling about the making babies part… Off to nurse my baby… 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

