Turkey and babies, that’s what I like

Standard

It’s Thanksgiving weekend!  I know I’ll be echoing a lot of people when I say I’m most grateful for my family.  The one I grew up with, and the one growing up before my eyes.  They mean more than anything else in the world to me!

We were able to drive up to Massachusetts yesterday to eat Turkey and cranberries and all the other goodness loaded on my Mom’s table.  We arrived at 3:30am, after a wardrobe/upholstery/luggage malfunction in the car — when Kirstyn spewed vomit over everything — required that we return home, clean up, and hit the road again.

But we’re here now!

Coffee, cards, food, movies, fart apps on smartphones, shopping, sisters, more coffee… it’s a good life.

My kids are just as thrilled to be here as I am.  My husband too!  He gets multiple brownie points for initiating this Thanksgiving trip to Massachusetts!  He loves to hang out with my family.  My married sister and her husband have been hanging out non-stop at Mom’s house too.  And another sister’s boyfriend, and other friends too…

I am so grateful that in our family, we all love each other!  Even the married-ins love hanging out in this big, noisy, beautiful family.

I am grateful for my healthy children.  We have another baby this year, who has turned out to be a sweet, charming, calm, grinning, perfect-sleeper baby boy.  (Eight to nine hours straight, every night?  And then back to sleep again for a few hours after nursing?  I know, I know, he’s quite perfect.)  My sister Liz said, “I haven’t heard him fuss at all since you’ve been here!”  Yep.  He’s a good boy.

My kids are already talking about another one.  Another baby.  Cameron was cuddling with me, leaning on my belly, and asked, “Is there another baby in there yet?”

Not yet, kid.  I can still remember labor and delivery!  But I am grateful for children who love living in a big family, and ask for more siblings.  I can’t think of a better thing than family to treasure!   Not just this holiday season, but all life long.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

