Recovering from vacation. I’m sure my parents are too!

Standard

Thanksgiving was over a week ago?  Amazing.  Time seems rather blurry looking back!  We packed a lot into our Massachusetts trip.

(I wish I didn’t live 8 hours away from my sisters!)

We survived the trip home.  Daytime driving has a few disadvantages.  Like, the kids are awake the whole time!  (Except for short naps which just produce grumpy kids.)  The thing about night driving is once the kids fall asleep, they’re out for the count.  Even the baby.  On the trip to Massachusetts, Zach and everyone else fell asleep around 10:00pm and didn’t wake up until we pulled into my parents’ driveway at 3:30am.

On the way home, we had to keep the kids stuffed with snacks, keep movies playing on my laptop, and make potty and nursing stops.  AND we still have to try not to fall asleep at the wheel!  Yes, please, to venti-sized drinks with way more espresso shots than recommended.

(Thank you, inventor of laptops!  A few years ago when I was young and stupid, I thought, “I always just read books when I was a kid, on our 3-day trips in the car.  My kids can do the same thing.”  Hahahahahaha!  *breathe*… *another fit of hysterical laughter…*)

I walked into my house and discovered that my in-laws had painted my kitchen and dining room while we were gone!  Dee and I picked the paint out at Home Depot months and months ago, before Zach was born.  But then, well, Zach was born.  Life has been just a little busy since then!

It. Is. GORGEOUS!  I love it!

We’ve been back a few days now.  Sorry I haven’t said, “Whasup?!” yet!  I was knocked out of commission by a breast infection the day after we got home.  Like, if my mother-in-law didn’t live right next door, I don’t what would have become of the children.  I was out of it!  My whole body ached, and shook with the chills, my head pounded, and of course my boob hurt like crazy.  My neck was board stiff the entire next day, and my mom asked about meningitis.  I looked it up, and found out I could die.  But it wasn’t meningitis, thankfully, just a breast infection.  (Although I’ll never be 100% positive, since I didn’t even call my midwife.  I’m not so great about calling doctors.)

Then there was school, and a million trunks (suitcases… I just think “trunks” is cool) to unpack, and a million loads of laundry, and it’s still not perfectly in order, and I’ve already shed tears about it, and now I’m good.

I’m falling asleep all over the house these days, so I’m going to shimmy off to bed.  Night y’all!  (Look at me, getting all southern…  Sorry you guys!)

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

