I wish Mary Poppins and her snapping fingers would decorate for me

Standard

We chopped down our tree today!  And put it up!  And strung the lights!  And hung ornaments!  And wrapped lights around the basement railing, and set up the nativity, and hung my wreaths and set out all my snowmen.

We were rolling!

Now I’m exhausted.  My mother-in-law is threatening to go on a Christmas decoration strike this year.  I said I wanted in on the strike.  But then I’d have a mutiny on my hands, sooo… strike that.

I’ll just deal with my grinchy decorating attitude.

Bring on the lights!

Kirstyn asked me tonight, “Mom, why are Christmas lights so beautiful?!”

“Well,” I said, “They’re supposed to remind us about Jesus, and how He is the Light.”

Okay, so I guess I can’t really go on strike against that!

Our house does look extra beautiful now. We put the tree in our basement, and Dee was all excited about being able to put up a bigger tree now with our 9-foot ceilings! I’ll post pictures… promise… just no… energy… right now…

And I still have too many more lights to hang.  Anybody want to come help?  I’ll make coffee and scones!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

9 responses »

  1. Downtown Northampton is beautiful all lit up and sparkling – I love it! Mom was debating whether or not to put a tree up this year… it is kinda a pain, but it’s always so cozy and festive! Can’t wait to see your new carpet, and your tree, and celebrate Christmas with you guys!!!

  2. Ruth, I have been feeling the same way — especially since our Christmas decorations are buried within the cluttered confines in my attic. I just don’t know when I am going to find the time to clean and then decorate. If it wasn’t for the kids, I think I would skip. 🙂

  3. I’m more with snapping my fingers and making things clean…because, personally, I would love to put up decorations with my family. Haven’t done it in three years and miss it!!!! So, enjoy the headaches. 🙂

  4. good morning mrs. ruth…this is jackie at electro-term.. your father told me about your site… and i love it… and i miss you and hate you are far away…but our GOD is taking care of my baby girl…(you) .. i’m so happy right now .just being able to write to you… and able to know you all are during good… your babies are all beautiful..and to see kirstyn .. seven
    years old. wow!! i see she still have that beauty ..she was the prettiest little baby you can ever see.. now all of the are beautiful kids .. they grow so fast on you….let them all know i said hello to them all.. and i want to let you all know .. you all are my family too… love you all ..BIG MAMA JACKIE

Leave a Reply

