We have no fireplace, but the stockings are hung!

Standard

I am just loving our pile of stockings this year!  So many!  My heart squeezed tight when I hung them up and saw what a huge jumble we are.

I can’t wait to stuff all the stockings with the candy and toys I bought!  We’ve always told our kids that Santa isn’t real, just a fat guy in a red suit.  We tell them Mommy and Daddy buy and deliver the gifts.  This year, my daughter is using this info to her manipulative advantage!  She says, “Mom, since you’re Mommy Santa, you can grant my every wish, right?!”

Bright child, that one.

Zach loves the lights.  I think all of us should let our excitement shine so transparently!

I love the Christmas lights too.  Especially since I gave myself permission to just throw away the ones that don’t work!  Like the garland that my boys used to play jump rope.  I remember when I was a child, sitting (for hours it seemed!) with broken lights, replacing tiny bulb after tiny bulb trying to bring the light strand back to life.

No more!

I’m throwing away lights, Ziploc bags, broken toys, plates and silverware…  ‘Tis the season!  It’s my Christmas nesting.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

4 responses »

  1. I agree with Kristen–I love you blog! Your posts are always so fun to read and relatable! Your little guy is extra cute with those lights! I’ve been tossing old lights too and I’ve been TRYING to toss all my random games pieces, broken things, and junk. But for some reason it’s still a little painful for my hoarder self.

  2. Hi Ruth! OMG I just want to squeeze Zachs little cheeks! Please hug him for me, in fact give all of your sweet little ones a Mele Kalikimaka hug from their aunt Connie in Hawaii. And you have a blessed and peaceful Christmas weekend…Happy Birthday Jesus!

    Aloha,

    Connie

Leave a Reply

