WORD!!!

Standard

Unless you live in this family and watched “Mr. Popper’s Penguins” with us, you didn’t just crack up reading my title.  But here in this family, all you have to do is strike a pose like Jim Carrey, mimic “Word!” and everyone starts giggling.

Words have been on my mind.

I bought The Jesus Storybook Bible for my kids and cried as I read the very first story to my kids.  About God speaking the world into existence with just words.  About His plan to send a Rescuer, the Word made flesh, because He knew we’d never measure up on our own.  It’s a beautiful, true story!

I’ve been thinking about how God doesn’t care if we don’t measure up.  He really doesn’t care!  Not because he’s a distant God.  (He’s Immanuel — God WITH us!)  No, because when He looks at us He sees Jesus, that perfect Word made flesh, the One that died in our place, and so He sees perfection.

Isn’t that great news for someone like me?  Struggling with perfectionism?  God already sees me as perfect.

I try to remember this as I straighten the house only because someone said something about my house not always being tidy.

I think about words as I drive to Dee’s work Christmas party, where I will be judged by what I wear and say.

I think about words as I load the kids into the car and take all five of them out to the post office and a local (breakable!) gift shop.  I don’t want to take five kids shopping!  Especially during school hours, because what will people say?  But I take them because I promised my son.  I spoke words, and he believed them.

I think about words as I hang up my cell phone after leaving a message for my husband.  The kids all chimed together from the back seat, “You didn’t say ‘I love you,’ Mom!”  I thought I did, but no, they assured me, I didn’t.  “We were listening!”  So maybe I was a little irritated that he didn’t answer his phone.  I don’t usually call him unless I have something important to say.  But what’s more important than, “I love you?”

Thinking today about the power of words… and about the powerful love of the Word made flesh.  A Baby, must vulnerable of all, and yet completely God and ruler of all.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. Ruth, I love that Bible storybook too! I bought it this year and have also cried while reading parts of it.

    I went Christmas shopping with the kids last night and didn’t get to leave ’til 10:30 p.m. We were all tired, and we all took naps this afternoon. I kept thinking how much I dislike shopping some times. 🙂

    Today, we had a Christmas party for school and are reading lots of Christmas stories. I love this time of year!

Leave a Reply

