Christmas is still happening!

Standard

Merry Christmas!

Yes, it’s still Christmas here.  The tree is still up, but shedding needles like crazy.  Probably a fire hazard!  It looks kinda sad, too.  But it has to last through this weekend!  My Massachusetts family will be here for  Christmas/New Year/Baby Shower/Birthday Party celebrations.  Let the fun begin!

(I went grocery shopping tonight, for all these people and parties.  I bought A LOT of food!!  I had to go through Sam’s Club twice, because it wouldn’t all fit in one cart.  It took me 5 hours to run a few errands with Zach… and I pulled a full grocery cart into the back of my ankle… and it was raining… so I went to Starbucks to reward myself after I finished shopping.)

I hope you all had as wonderful a Christmas morning as I did!  I have to say, I love being in my own home on Christmas morning.  Dee and I traveled up to Massachusetts the first Christmas we were married, but haven’t been back for Christmas since then.  With kids now, I don’t even think it would be possible to lug presents for five munchkins up and back on a trip like that!  I love that the kids can wake up and run downstairs to our very own Christmas tree, in our very own lovely basement, where Mommy and Daddy wrapped presents just a few hours earlier.

Waste of time?  Nope.  It’s tradition now, Dee and I staying up late to wrap all the presents on Christmas Eve.  Pretty lights, music, coffee, laughter, no kids… We had fun!

For the curious, I bought Dee a pair of Bogs boots, and he bought me an iPod touch.  Um, YEAH!  He rocks!

(Now I can be just like Auntie Anna and play Toby Mac for the kids on the way up to church.)

The only present-opening catastrophe was when Cameron opened a pocketknife that Cory thought Auntie Liz mailed to him.  Oh the tears!  Until I could explain well enough that no, Auntie Liz was bringing her knives with her later this week.  This knife was from Mommy and Daddy for Cameron, and Cory had one too… in his stocking…

(And just for the record, I bought knives first!)

We had Dee’s mom and dad and sisters and families to our house for Christmas dinner.  A 7:00pm dinner, since we have a dairy farm family in our midst.  We ate subs, fruit, and veggies for dinner.  We were going for ease, not health, but everything was SO yummy and easy.  It seems like a good new tradition to me!

Right now I’m trying to sneak in some school days before the partying starts again.  My kids don’t know that all the public school kids are sleeping in late and watching lots of TV every day this week!  (Oh wait we’re doing that too.)  Dee took this whole week off work, so he’s around to help with stuff.  Today he cleaned all four bathrooms for me!  See?  He totally rocks.

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!  Uh, morning…

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

One response »

  1. Nice to have a sweet bathroom cleaning husband! I’m so glad you had a great Christmas. Ours is always at home. I would love to have family closer, but I like not having to go anywhere. Now I just need to work on my apparent tradition of wrapping all the presents on Christmas Eve–that’s a lot of work! Aiming for gradual present wrapping next year. 🙂 Happy New Year Ruth!

Leave a Reply

