Nurses are my newest heros. Heroines. Whatever!

Standard

To all my nurse friends out there:  My hat is off to you!  I’m catching a tiny glimpse of your life, and my life again when Dee and I are old and decrepit.

Dee had hernia surgery on Friday, and I’m trying really hard not to laugh at him hobbling around like an old man.  I also had to control my giggles at him waking up from drug-induced sleep on Friday afternoon.  I would SO not make a good nurse!  But I’m trying.  Helping him shower, dry off, get dressed… even flushing the toilet for him.  One thing I’m really good at?  Doping him up with percoset!

Actually, Dee’s a really good patient.  Or bad, I should say.  He hates not being able to do anything for himself!  This morning while I was still sleeping, he crawled on his hands and knees to the bathroom to wipe Cameron.  When I woke up, he was starting coffee and getting ready to make pancakes because that’s what the girls wanted for breakfast.  I (sweetly) yelled at him!  Banished his butt back to the couch.

And I thought my life was already crazy.

Dee is off work for four weeks, and I am dreading it!  What am I going to do with that man?!  Yes, I’ll love the extra time with him, but I can’t keep track of him and all of my kids.  As soon as he feels better he’ll want to roughhouse with the kids, load the wood furnace, paint the ceiling, change the oil in all the vehicles…  Because he’s a good dad and husband.  Totally NOT the lazy type!

Patrick, the cool anesthesiologist that wears a Steelers medical cap told Dee, “Just make sure you don’t cheat!”  No lifting.  Period.  Maybe I’ll have Patrick call every day?

The biggest problem right now is kid-related, but not what you think.  They’re doing a great job being careful around Dee, but they make him laugh!  And that hurts really bad.  He just yelled at me, “Take her away!  She’s making me laugh!”  Megan’s over there cracking jokes about Daddy farting, and then bursting into adorable giggles.  That comes from HIS side of the family — the farting and the jokes about it!

So.  A whole month ahead of us with Daddy home.   It is a little exciting!  And, I’m hoping… more help for me with school?  Dee can sit on the couch and boss the kids around.  I am all for sending them to the principal’s office, with books in hand!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

4 responses »

  1. Oh, yes! Been there! After Stephen’s surgery he tried to help bed up free stalls. And tried driving the skid loader. And tried milking. He paid for it! (not by paying me!!! Honest. I did nothing other than shake my head *L*).

    He did do “school” with the girls for me some – 🙂

    Hope he’s feeling well enough to be pleasant and bad enough to stay put and heal!!! 🙂

  2. You’re a great nurse! And it’s nice that you have a new principal! It’s so cute they make him laugh. All the slightly crude humor comes from my husband’s side of the family too. I didn’t grow up that way at all, but my kid’s think it’s hilarious! I hope Dee is feeling better quickly, but takes it easy. Hopefully he doesn’t bust his stitches from laughing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

