Does Johnny Depp change diapers? I don’t think so!

Standard

Valentine’s Day is tomorrow.  Could we even forget if we wanted to?  Probably not.  It’s EVERYWHERE!  You’d have to be living under a rock (and now I totally have that Geico commercial  in my head…) not to notice the pinkness and chocolaty-ness and fluffiness.  Valentine’s Day may be a pagan holiday, but I love it!  Even before I got married I loved it!  When I was a kid, my mom would have candy, chocolate and ice cream coupons sitting at the breakfast table for us kids.  Now she mails candy and gifts to my kids.

Having a man in my life definitely makes Valentine’s Day even more fun.  We don’t normally buy each other gifts.  Maybe a card, maybe dinner out… nothing fancy.  My man spoils me all year long, and that’s the way uh-huh I like it!

What do I love about this guy?  This man, he…

  • changes diapers  (Need I continue?  He changes diapers!!!)
  • makes coffee
  • goes grocery shopping
  • knows my favorite drink at Starbucks
  • empties the diaper pail
  • encourages me to write
  • helps with the kids’ schooling
  • reads and memorizes scripture with the kids
  • makes me laugh
  • changes the toilet paper, and puts it my way
  • keeps the bathroom stocked with new toilet paper rolls
  • keeps our wood pit stocked, and our house warm
  • turns the covers down just the way I like…
  • …and doesn’t sleep with socks on anymore, even if he’s cold, because he knows I hate it
  • never yells at me
  • compliments my cooking, my flower beds, my gardening and canning, my house-keeping, my body, my teaching, and my mothering
  • plays “Twister” even though he’s too tall to win   (It’s cheating to make me laugh so hard I fall over!)
  • sword-fights with the boys
  • plays Candyland and Go-fish!
  • builds bon-fires and cooks hot dogs and baked beans
  • makes a mean batch of pancakes
  • feeds and dresses the kids on Sunday mornings (after making the coffee)
  • keeps all the vehicles in good working order
  • drove old cars when he was a teenager, and all his friends were buying new cars, so we could own a house and all the “fixings” debt free
  • prays
  • comes with me to social gatherings (and ends up being the life of the party)
  • loves one-on-one time with me
  • would rather spend time with me than anyone else
  • washes dishes, sweeps the floor, and vacuums (even under the couches!)
  • cleans the shower
  • helps his mom and dad and sisters with whatever projects they’ve got going on, plus my family too
  • helps anyone out, for that matter, and usually for free
  • brings me flowers
  • asks about my day
  • opens my car door

… And maybe I’ll just stop before you all figure out that I’m head-over-heels for this guy.  He’s my best friend, and I love him!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

