Of dust, heaven, and storybook mice

Standard

You know that story “If You Give A Mouse A Cookie?”  It makes you dizzy, right?  That was me tonight.  I’m not feeling creative enough to tell a fancy tale, but it happened in the kitchen, with the vacuum.

Or maybe it started with my baby, who has his first cold, so I had to hold him all day, so it took me a long time to chop potatoes and carrots for beef stew, so we ate late, so we watched a movie late, so the kids went to bed late, so after the kids were in bed, I finally picked the vacuum hose back up  (it was still out from vacuuming the dryer…) and went to work on my kitchen floor.

I noticed that the vent under my fridge was mighty dirty.  So I pried it off.  I sucked up quite a few crayons and rotini noodles.  I saved the puzzle pieces and markers.  Mainly because they wouldn’t fit up the vacuum nozzle.

So much dust!  You wouldn’t believe the dust monsters under my fridge.  Ugly, troll-sized monsters.  My husband happened by, after last hugs and kisses and drinks with the kids, and noticed my work.  (He stood there and “noticed” me for a while, before he gave me a hand, but that’s another story…)

He yanked the entire fridge out, and we found more dust.  Lots of it.  So Dee got a screwdriver and started taking panels off of the fridge!  We vacuumed every reachable inch of the fridge, and I loaded up a bucket of soapy water with lemon oil.  I wiped down every inch of the fridge, and since it was so close to my stove, I cleaned that too.  Then some back splash tile, and cupboard doors, and by then I was so close to my dishwasher that I went ahead and wiped that down too.  I scrubbed some crusty spots on the floor, and finally got back to behind the fridge.  I wiped down the wall and cabinets and floor back there.  My water was filthy dirty by then!

So I dumped it out, and picked up a toothbrush to scrub the fridge vent that I ripped off over an hour earlier.

It’s clean now!  I can finally check “Clean fridge” off of my before-Zach nesting list.

I don’t mind this late-night cleaning.  It seems to be a thing for me.  My wind-down time, if I don’t have a good book or I’ve watched all my Hulu shows.  I listen to Pandora, and sing about holy ground, and God redeeming broken pieces.  I think about how this right now — what I’m doing tonight — is holy ground.

And it’s broken pieces of Motherhood, because I never have everything clean, and I still yell at my kids, and I forget about kindness and love and patience.   But God takes the broken pieces I offer Him and redeems my imperfect mothering.  My scrubbing of floors and faces is just an offering of worship, not a prediction of how my kids will turn out.  God will “turn out” my kids!  But oh, how blessed I am to be a part of His plan for my kids!  I LOVE being their mother, and I love that we teach each other grace.

This is the stuff of heaven, the scrubbing of fridge vents and kissing of faces.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

5 responses »

  1. When I read the title and then started the post, I was waiting for the mouse to appear behind the refrigerator. I’m glad that didn’t happen! I bet it felt good to walk in there this morning and know that it was so clean. I love that feeling! Blessings today as you continue on this journey of love. ❤

  2. I too kept waiting for a mouse to be sucked up your vacuum hose!

    But I truly know the feeling of starting one small project and not knowing how to quit!

    Thanks for the reminder on what is truly important!
    Gina

Leave a Reply

