March red necks

Standard

It’s 85 degrees!  My thermometer is sitting in the sun, so it might be a tad off, but still.  It’s a scorcher!

It’s also March 14th.

I’m making iced coffee before the Shamrock Shakes are done at McDonald’s!  What IS this warm winter sunshine?  I remember bundling up in heavy coats to watch the St. Patrick’s Day parade when I was little.  This year we’ll sitting in our back yard on St. Paddy’s Day, sipping green smoothies while we soak up the sun on our bare arms.

We didn’t drink enough hot chocolate yet!  Maybe iced would be yummy?  Can you ice a HOT chocolate?

The cherry trees downtown are bloomed.  The robins have been hopping around for weeks now, and the daffodils are on the way out!  Cameron found me a dandelion already.  We’re wearing flip-flops to church and going barefoot at home.  Bare feet are encouraged at school too, which is outside on my newly refurbished swing.  (Thanks, Grammy!)

Am I complaining about this early warm weather?   Um, NO!

Yesterday we did all things summer.  We played in water.  (I vote for pools to open before Memorial Day this year!)  We got ice cream at McDonald’s and ate it at the park.  I pushed the kids on the swings, and let the boys push me high too.  I rocked on one of those bouncy animals.  (We all had one to ride… it was very Mary Poppinish…)  We bought hot dogs and grilled them over an outdoor fire at home, and I even ate one!  It was SO yummy, dripping with mustard.

I took the Christmas lights off of my outside bushes, since it felt like July was wrapping up!

Cameron’s neck is already red. ( Note to self: put sunscreen on my redneck kids.)

My man is already working on his red neck, and showing off his big strong muscles in cut-off T-shirts.

I do need to keep reminding Cameron that the toilet outside is NOT the outhouse!  (It’s waiting for me to decide whether or not to use it as a planter…)  Even warm weather is not an excuse to take care of business outside.  At least pick a tree, kid, so we don’t have to dump the toilet upside down to shake out all the pee.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Ruth, we are enjoying the warm weather too. The boys had their shirts off and kept asking if they could go swimming. 🙂 I had to laugh when I read the part about Cameron and the outside potty. That’s exactly what my boys would try (probably). 🙂

Leave a Reply

