6 months old!

Standard

The rose bush is uncurling its leaves again… that rose bush we rocked by last September.  I can’t believe my baby is 6 months old!  I can’t believe we’ve had him for half a year already!  It’s too quick.

It means my other babies are growing up too.

(I’m in no hurry for another baby yet, though, in case anybody was wondering!  I’ll just keep borrowing babies for now.)

Zach had a pediatrician’s visit this week, where they told me his head was big.  Totally knew that already!  He gets that from my side of the family.  We tend to have shirt-over-the-head issues.  More room for smarts, right?

I passed on the vaccinations again, signed a waiver.  Usually I don’t mind the vaccination push, but it ticked me off this week because I TOLD them Zach had a cold, and they STILL recommended giving him a whole slew of shots including a flu shot.  Um, why is okay to give a sick baby with an over-taxed immune system a bunch of viruses?  And why is it okay to give a 6 month old baby a flu shot but not a 5 month old baby the same shot?  Seems they should take into account weight and health, not age.  Some 6 month old babies are tiny, much tinier that my brute of a 6 month old boy.

Anyway…

My “brute,” he clocked in at 19 lbs, 10 oz.  He likes his milk!

We’re still nursing strong.  I love it!  When Zach was just a few weeks old, I was propped up in bed one night, nursing Zach.  I reached over and rested my hand on Dee’s sleepy head and said, “I just love nursing babies, and having babies, and staying home with my babies!  Thank you for going to work every day and letting me do this.”

SOOOO un-liberated, right?!

I love my profession.

After not being able to nurse my first three babies past 6 months, I was thrilled when Megan nursed until almost 2 years old.  (I probably should throw out all the breast milk I pumped and stored trying to keep my milk supply up.  It’s still in the freezer, three years old…)  I hope Zach nurses that long too!

I wish I had a picture of my 6-month-old cutie pie.  He is the smiley-est baby ever!  So sweet and laid back.  (He puts up with a lot of rough and tumble and in-your-face from his big brothers and sisters!)  But he is the 5th born child, after all, so I haven’t yet scheduled our traditional photo shoot with “Pinkie,” the Baby Gund elephant that was once upon a time a soft, fluffy animal.  Maybe I’ll wash it today, and find a clean outfit for Zach to wear…

Now that my washer is working!  Dee spent a good portion of this morning dismantling the machine, and finally found a sock stuffed up the water hose, blocking the drainage.  THEY REALLY DO EAT SOCKS!!!  It’s fixed just in time.  I have a huge pile of sheets and jammies and underoos sitting outside on the back porch waiting to get washed.  It’s been a long couple days of pee, diarrhea, and puke.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

4 responses »

  1. I can’t believe he’s that old already either! No pressure but you do have such cute babies that more pics really are a necessity! I can’t wait to see him this summer, and how much the rest of the family has grown.

  2. It goes way too fast, doesn’t it, Ruth? I love nursing too — though it’s not as much fun now that Olivia has 6 teeth. 🙂 I know what you mean about loving having babies. There are days that I think I really want another one. 🙂 Happy 6 months, Zach!

    Zach weighs as much as Olivia (almost). That’s the difference between girls and boys. My Luke weighed the same amount at 6 months that Olivia weighs at 9 months. 🙂 “Bouncing baby boys!”

  3. What a wonderful post, you always make me feel so good about loving my (now grown) babies. I had four children in a time and place where baby boomers were choosing to have at the most 2 babies, if any at all. Now I see so many of the people of my generation reaching their retirement years, alone, and I feel for them. I’m not judging, but I know many made the choice to make money over having a family….and I guess money can buy strangers when you need help…but it just “can’t buy me love…oh” Thanks again for letting me share in your life…kiss those little ones for me a hug from Hawaii!

Leave a Reply

