Good grief, girls!

Standard

I’m not ready for teenage girls!  Good thing I have a few years before that happens.

My daughters are already driving me bonkers!  I can’t imagine the hormones in another 10 years.  Today was meltdown city, when my boys went with Daddy to help some friends move.

Kirstyn:  “Well, since Cory gets to play with friends, can I invite some friends over today?”

I reminded her that she had school, and besides, she was going (without brothers) to play with friends on Friday.

“BUT THAT’S NOT FAIR!!!”

Um, I missed something, I think…

“…Because I don’t really know those girls, so I want to invite somebody like Rachel or Brianna over today!”

Okay, now it’s a tad more logical.

And of course always, the complaint: “Why do we have to do so much school!  It’s NOT FAIR!”

(We’ve been reading about Abraham Lincoln, and Kirstyn decided that if she’s ever president, she’ll change the rules about school.  I asked her if she thought children should be allowed to just quit school if they want, and she said, “No, I’ll make a law that says we skip days.  Like, we always skip Monday!”  I’m right there with you on that one, girl!)

Megan was even worse, with the tears.  About not finding the right shoes, about dirt on her hands, about falling down (because she insisted on wearing her cork heels), about not being able to tell Daddy, about Kirstyn not giving her more chicken, about not riding her bike, and the paints, and the Rita’s ice spilling, and…

Like I said, I am NOT ready for 13-year-old Megan!

I could not keep Kirstyn concentrated on schoolwork, and I was getting really frustrated with Megan’s tears.  (And the fact that the dishes and the laundry, and the weeding, and the taxes are just not getting done!)  What to do?  It was the first day of SPRING, ya’ll!  Kirstyn has been tracking this day on the calendar for weeks now!  So we ditched the math book and headed out.

I’ve always wanted to see a Hobby Lobby, so we went there.  Wow!  That’s a lot of neat-o stuff.  I’m totally not a crafty person, and I don’t like hanging a lot of cutesy stuff on my walls, but I was still impressed.  I bought some birthday treasures for Megan, (which she picked out and I’m hoping she forgets about!) and some simple cross-stitch samplers for Kirstyn.  I was a cross-stitch fanatic when I was young!  I’m kinda hoping Kirstyn will love it too.  I also bought her a paint-by-number, and some sun catchers to decorate.

(Sometimes I feel guilty about not doing crafts with my kids!)

On the way to Hobby Lobby, we passed a Rita’s that was PACKED OUT!  I pulled in, wondering if the mention of Rita’s on Facebook this morning, and this horde of people had any connection?  Like, was there free ice???  Yes, indeed!  And so, my girls got their first taste of Rita’s.  Kirstyn chose “swedish fish,” Megan chose vanilla (and settled for “lemonade” since it was white), and I chose “iced coffee.”  What else? =)

Subway was handing out free sandwiches and cookies there at Rita’s, and we got rained on, and Zach flirted with the ladies.  He already knows that ladies are best to flirt with!

What did Zach do before his afternoon flirting?  During the hormone battles?  Why, he was good as gold, like always.  No tantrums to report!  Of course he prefered that I HOLD him (which is why the dishes and laundry and weeding and taxes are not done…), but I just love snuggling with my lover-boy!  He puts his hands on my face, and tucks his entire body into mine, and I. Just. Melt.

We ended on a good note, my girls and I.  We always do!  Every night I make sure that Kirstyn gets to talk if she needs to.  I sit on her bed and “have a chat,” like when she was 2 years old.  She used to pat the ground next to her, on the grass, and say, “Have a chat!”  An invitation to tie some forever-strings.

So really, it won’t change much maybe?  My girls then, and my girls now, and my future teenage girls…  all they want is for someone to listen.  To “Have a chat!” and swap some heart stories.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

