Pink baby elephants and coffee… it matches, right?

Standard

You may not want to ask my youngest daughter for (practical) organizing and decorating help.  She’s got some wild ideas.

Like, for example, what to keep in your newly remodeled bathroom.  (I’m going with a coffee theme.  Surprise!)

(It all started with me being tired of the blue paint… so Dee painted the walls brown, and then we got a new toilet since the old one was out anyway… a 29 golf ball flusher… for all those matchbox cars that could theoretically be flushed down… and then Dee didn’t like the old pedestal sink… and now the mirror, wall cupboard, and shiny chrome hardware don’t match…)

Dee plumbed the sink last night, for which I was very grateful!  Using the toilet in one room and then going to another room to wash hands was creeping me out with the germs.

Now we can fill up the cabinet!  The empty space under the old pedestal sink meant that toilet paper and soap refills, extra toothpaste and whatever else you might want in a bathroom had to be kept somewhere else.  Today I asked Megan, “What do you think we should keep under here?”  She’s a smart girl, I expected her to at least say, “Toilet paper!”  But nope.

Megan:  “Um… how about an elephant?”

Me: “An elephant?”

Megan:  “Yeah, a baby one.  There’s a pink one in the back yard.”

Me:  “A pink baby elephant?”

Megan:  “No… it’s blue.”

Somehow, I don’t think the local pet store will do for this girl!

Speaking of pets, the kids and I scarfed up some frog eggs today, from a stream near our house.  We’ve never hatched tadpoles before!  I’m excited, and hoping that we don’t kill them by accident.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. when they hatch, leave some of the “gel” in their for them to eat. and make sure you let the good green algae grow in the tub you keep them in. and they like to be warm (the water) but NOT HOT (full sun = bad). and you can feed them lettuce (nice, leafy, wilty lettuce) once they hatch. They eat plant stuff, which from my comments is probably obvious. Have fun!

    OH! And MAKE SURE that when they start to grow their legs out (assuming you get that far) that there is ALWAYS something gently slanting up out of the water for them to crawl out on.
    And don’t keep them in a container w/ the lid on, as the water needs the opportunity for natural oxygen exchange or you’ll suffocate the tadpoles.

    And…have fun! :o)

Leave a Reply

