The dress genes are *not* mine!

Standard

I had forgotten about Kirstyn’s phase of dresses!  An obsession, really.

I found 19 dresses in the “size 3/girls” box, as I was pulling out clothes for Megan.  (It’s hard work keeping 5 kids stocked with the right-sized clothing!)  That’s not counting skirts!  And that’s not counting the dresses in the laundry, or the dresses I later found hanging in the closet, or the dresses I’ve bought for Megan specifically  (every girl needs some brand new dresses),  or the 3 dresses she just got from Grammy for her birthday, or the dress I bought for Easter.

This girl has a wardrobe to envy.

She also adores shoes.  Megan will have a whole closet, just for shoes, when she’s a grown-up.  I’m sure of it.

A word, to the future husband of my 2nd-born daughter:  Start saving… NOW!  She also likes jewelry, make-up, and nail polish.  And chocolate.  Expensive, high-quality truffles to be precise.

I am responsible for her taste in chocolate.  (And her affinity for ponies, and traveling…)  But I don’t claim the genes that passed down her fondness for everything girly!

Maybe I’m just old, but I don’t remember being so girly.  My favorite outfit was a T-shirt with a cow on it, paired with denim shorts.  No shoes, unless I had to.  I climbed trees.  I don’t think I brushed my hair unless Mom made me.  (I look wild and ratty in all the old pictures and home movies!)  I hung out at the local school yard, and played baseball and tackle football with the neighborhood boys.

I hated skirts for a long, long time.

I still hate them a little bit, but not with a passion.  The right skirt at the right time can be pretty darn cute!  And I do love buying dresses for my girls.  Especially when I bring one home and Kirstyn shrieks, “Oh, I LOVE it!  I am in LOVE with this dress!”  And hugs it tight, and grins with the kind of grin you rarely capture on camera.

It’s addicting, watching my girls faces light up.  So yeah, maybe it is partly my fault that Megan has over 30 dresses to her name!

At least we don’t have to scrounge around for proper attire on Sunday mornings.  We just have to yell, “Hurry up!” and “Good grief, how many dresses have you tried on?!”  Much simpler.

(I’m not saying we did this routine earlier today or anything…)

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Haha I remember when Kirstyn used to change her outfits like, four or five times a day! Your girls are so beautiful! Oh, and I thought your favorite outfit had pink and black polka dots, and suspenders that you stretched out with you thumbs and snapped when the neighbor boys were around…. =)

Leave a Reply

