Empty means full, ’cause it’s always opposite day in the Kingdom!

Standard

He takes his Bible and heads downstairs to read.  I roll up my sleeves and settle in to tackle my stack of dirty dishes.  I think about that scripture passage about married women caring for the things of the world, how to please the husband.

Plates with caked-on cheese, endless dirty underwear, smashed Cheerios, toys all out again, children to love on, sippy cups to fill, favorites to remember, toilets to wipe, checkbooks to balance… things of this world.

I remember when I could sit for hours and study scripture.  I could pray with my face to the sunshine, instead of prayers whispered with my face soaking up a hot shower.

Would I trade it?  The things of this world for the heavenly things?

Not in a million years!

The thing is, it’s one and the same, the heavenly and the worldly things I mention.

I am advancing God’s kingdom, and I’m doing it right here in my home.  I am raising and nurturing eternal souls.   And I am yelling to the world, “See this man?  See our crazy, unstoppable love?  I’ll show you scars, but I’ll show you forever too… and that is just a TASTE of God’s love.”

When a million years is gone, my investment and my treasure will still last, for millions and millions of years times inifinity.

My 10 minutes of Bible snatched here and there, it is GOOD!  (I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t snatch those minutes every day. Sometimes Facebook woos me louder than I listen to the Holy Spirit.)

My worship can be fingers scraping gunk from the kitchen sink, my lips matching soul with, “Sweet By and By.”

My worship is a 7-month-old babe that has four teeth pushing through, and wants to sleep with me all night long.

… And worship is making sure that Husband, on the other side of Babe, doesn’t get lost in this shuffle of motherhood.

Worship is listening to the love behind the demands of, “Mommy!  I want MOMMY to put me to bed!”

… And giving in to those demands, even if my mommy heart feels all wrung out for the day.  The weird thing about empty is, at least in the upside-down world of grace, the heart fills back up when it gives past empty.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

