Bedtime Tales

Standard

I mentioned how the baby’s been sleeping with us?  I love it, when he’s not grinding his teeth right next to my ear or yanking my hair.

Did I also mention that he wets the bed?  No?

Yes.  Even if I change his diaper in the middle of the night.  Multiple times.  Even if I slap a bigger diaper on his cute butt!  I’m chalking it up to male anatomy.  Kirstyn, our first baby, slept in bed with us for a while, and I don’t remember her ever wetting the bed!  (That was also 7 years ago, and my brain now isn’t so great at remembering things…)

In Zach’s defense, I have increased his nighttime fluid intake.   Because of his teething, and related sleeping troubles, he nurses all night long.  Draped over me, or snuggled up between me and Dee.  Sometimes I try to sneak him back into his portable crib, next to my bed, but he always whimpers.  And then immediately falls back asleep when I pick him up and plop him back in my bed.  I KNOW!  It’s bad.  He is completely spoiled.

Anyway.

Zach woke up at 6:00am a few mornings ago, wet.  I yanked the sheets and mattress pad off the bed, changed Zach, and quickly slipped a bottom sheet back on the bed.  Would he be lulled back to sleep?  Nope.  I don’t know why I even tried!  Zach’s been waking up bright and smiley at 6:00am for weeks now.

*Groan…*  I am SO not ready to get up at 6:00am.  I know, I know — a lot of you do it!  But that’s supposed to be one of the perks of being a stay-at-home mom!  We get to keep our lazy butts in bed longer than the work-outside-the-home mom.

Since the mattress pad was off the bed, I was even more diligent about changing Zach’s diaper frequently during the night.  Any leakage would go right to the mattress.  Do you think that stopped him?  No.  This morning, shortly after a diaper change, he woke up wet and poopy!

Strip the sheets, spray the mattress with Resolve, bathe the baby.

Make coffee.  DRINK coffee!

Attempt to throw the house into order before out-of-town company comes for the day.  Amy, we LOVED your visit!!!  (And thank you for being late!)  You always water my soul well, dear friend.

I finally have the mattress pad washed, dried, and back on the bed, along with a waterproof chuck.  Yes, I actually made my bed for the baby.  I told you he’s spoiled rotten!

My husband made me MORE coffee this evening, and whipped up delicious chocolate chip pancakes for supper.

Speaking of Husband, and bed tales, did I mention that we ripped a pair of sheets?  No?  Well, we did.  Huge rips, in two different spots.  Laugh, whatever.  The sheets were just old, I tell you!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. We loved visiting you guys too! Thanks so much for hosting us! Sounds like Olivia and Zach are having a competition of who can keep their parents up the most at night. 🙂

  2. Oh I am so there with you on the early mornings with the babe :). Lincoln seems to think we all should be up at 6am! Yikes!

  3. Hi there! i was going through some of my old posts and saw that you had visited my blog. Thanks for stopping by. As for early bird babies, it’s tough! Although I’m lucky. My little guy waits until 7 🙂

Leave a Reply

