Join

Standard

Today I’m joining Lisa Jo and her 5 Minute Friday crew.  It’s a beautiful community of honest, real people.  They pour their hearts out for 5 minutes straight and then hit “publish.”  No changing words!  I rarely join them (it’s SCARY!), but I’ve been inspired by my sister Anna’s storiesGo check her out!  You won’t regret it.

Join…

Join.  It requires a giving and a taking, this joining.  Always, when things are meshed together, there is NEW created!

I joined this family when I married my husband.  I choose to join myself permanently.  I joined the throngs of motherhood the day I got pregnant for the very first time, and now I’ve re-joined that group 4 times since.  We’re joined at the hip, the boob, the ankle, and at present babe — the hair.

I didn’t mean to join these groups so early!  My mother became a wife when she was 27, and gave birth to me when she was 28.  I just assumed I’d follow in her footsteps.  I’d see the world first, work longer at an orphanage, get involved with more children’s ministries.  And now?  I AM doing this.  (Well, minus the orphanage…)

My joining, it happened 4 years before my planned time, but God always has better planning.  Every single time.  He has me join friendships and places and situations to my life that are sometimes scary, sometimes uncomfortable, but I join anyway.  Because I choose to be joined, by Him.  It’s my surrender.

Beauty flows from surrender, and I have 5 breathtakingly gorgeous children that are joined to my life permanently.  That were created through a joining.  Through them I see the world, and I see God’s heart, and I work His kingdom work.

5 responses »

  1. “He has me join friendships and places and situations to my life that are sometimes scary, sometimes uncomfortable, but I join anyway. Because I choose to be joined, by Him. It’s my surrender.”–Love this! I enjoyed reading your post and glad you decided to join in; loved hearing your thoughts on join.

    Nice to meet you through Five Minute Fridays! =)

  2. Our own lives turn out differently to our mom’s don’t they? Unlike my mom who had me at 18, I studied, travelled and lived on my own before marriage and children. Which was better, one cannot say because, as you put it, God is the one who helps you join to these people that become so much a part of your life.

Leave a Reply

