Small

Standard

The word on LisaJo’s 5 street:

SMALL…

It’s the small things here that make a big impression on my heart.

The way he fills the soap dish when it’s empty.  Or stocks the bathroom cupboard with toilet paper.  Yes, I notice every time!  It makes me all warm and fuzzy inside.  He gets up with the baby, rocks her back to sleep, and then gets up with the 1-year-old too.  He makes coffee and feeds the wild things, and takes them to the basement so I can drink my coffee in peace.  Saturday mornings don’t get much better!

Little things are the concrete in our marriage.

And then there’s my small loves.  The ones I birthed.  Huge imprint, these small people.  Or maybe not so small anymore?  I’m in denial about some things!  My oldest is turning 9 in just a couple of weeks.  Um, HOW?!

Small things add up.  They grow up.  They make me fall in love, and they make me a mother.  Is there really such a thing as “small” in marriage or mothering?  Words do big things to tiny hearts.  Just a tone can set the whole day.  Small gestures of love can absolutely set your heart on fire.

Saving up $5 to buy him an orange creamsicle frapp from Starbucks.

Telling me that even if he bought me a drink every day, it would not be wasted money.

Driving home from work, just to pick us up and drive back into town for a family trip to Sam’s Club.  Where, by the way, I feel like the circus come to town!

What a big impact small can be.

Five Minute Friday

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. Hi Ruth! I like how you cherish and notice the small things that people do everyday! I am sorry to read and encourage you on Saturday! I also wrote a post on “Small”, but I wasn’t able to link up to Lisa Jo Baker’s blog or even encourage someone who already posted their post! Thank you for reminding me (and others, I’m sure) to remember and notice the small things that people do each day or even just one time. I remembered to thank my roommate for stocking the bathroom with soap and toilet paper! LOL! I would like it if you keep blogging in your style of writing! Have a great day!

  2. Having just moved so our little family could be together most nights, I’ve noticed how it really is the little things that make a marriage… entertaining the kids while I cook, picking up milk on the way home or keeping the kids so I can have the 5 minute milk run to myself! Lovely post! Also really enjoyed your previous post about hardships!

Leave a Reply

