My tree obsession continues

Standard

In the shower this morning, I sang “This World Is Not My Home.”  I am NOT a shower singer, but the baby on the floor needed some entertainment.  I was a good candidate!

“This world is not my home, I’m just a passing through, my treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue…”

(Thank you, Russian children, for requesting this song every single Sunday!  The words are imprinted permanently.  It’s a good thing.)

The water soaked into my skin, and these words soaked into my soul.  Roots.  I’m sprouting roots right now.  I can’t see them, but the seeds I’m planting in my kids are sinking somewhere into their little hearts.  I know, because I remember words and feelings from my childhood that my parents probably never dreamed were important.

Brainwashing children is a parental privilege.  Don’t you ever let the government tell you otherwise!

THIS world is not my home.  THIS world is just the passing-through one… the road… the adventure on my way Home.

“If heaven’s not my home, then Lord, what would I do?”

I have not the foggiest!  If there wasn’t a bigger purpose for the endless mac and cheese, and the supper dishes that I’m still working on when they come back and plop down for more food… Well, I’d probably throw in that dish towel.

The unseen is my hope —  the roots of our family tree, and that eternal fruit we are producing.

I love how each family member contributes to our root system.  Our tree will sway violently at times.  I know this.  We will be typhoon tested.  And wouldn’t we want to be?  If there’s no wind trying to blow its way through us, maybe there’s no tree to speak of.  Right now my roots are being tugged at.  It’s a hard time.  But my strong husband is holding me down, and my kids too.  When they climb all over me and fight for the spot closest to Mommy…  When my baby eats my face with her wet, sloppy kisses…  Our roots are twisting together and growing deeper.

And the best part?  We’re part of a bigger root system, grounded in the Giver of Life.

Blown over backwards maybe, like palm tree fronds touching the sand, but not destroyed.  Because this world has no sway over my eternal destiny.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. You should totally check my friend Patty Stalling’s post over at Velvet Ashes a few days ago… all about trees and root systems. AND Lisa-Jo’s Friday prompt is trees too! It’s a tree-kinda week. Missing you…

Leave a Reply

